I’m a teacher at the Belly Dance Business Academy!

This summer I’ve been busy with starting up new classes in the studio and creating workshops that cater to belly dancers needs. The results were great: I had two sold out workshops plus four new students for my weekly classes! Teaching the workshops was so much fun, that I wanted to give more dancers the opportunity to join in. The only question was: how?

What is the Belly Dance Business Academy?

Long story short, I am joining the fabulous team of teachers at the Belly Dance Business Academy and I will create several classes a year for their curriculum. The Belly Dance Business Academy is an online learning platform that helps dancers all around the world to get better at running their business. Classes and workshops are available in every price range, including a couple of free classes. Topics include (but are not limited to) handling the business side of belly dance, how to organize,  creating lesson plans,  handling complicated situations with clients or students and personal development. I wish I had this resource available when I started my belly dance business over a decade ago! Joining the BDBA is easy: go to the website and create an account (no payment involved). Once you’re logged in, choose a class from the many classes and workshops that are available and start learning. The classes are online and you can start and continue when it suits your schedule. As a teacher, I have a  bio page that tells you more about me as a teacher right here.

 

Fakyma-shoot-2013-headshot
The picture of my official bio at the BDBA

 

What am I going to teach?

My online teachings will be along the same lines as my live workshops. They are meant to inspire, look at challenges from a different perspective and help you become the best dancer and entrepeneur you can be. Now that I’m added to the team at the BDBA, I have to learn how to create an online course. It will be a steep learning curve and I’ve scheduled the next month to get used to the technology. I’ll create a free class so you can get to know me as a teacher and you get a taste of what the full class will entail.

The first full class is on how to find new music and get new inspiration through listening to music. This is a topic that pops up on every Message Board, Forum and Facebook group where dancers discuss belly dance. It’s one of my favorite topics to talk about with my fellow belly dance teachers because it’s so much fun to explore what’s hot and trending in Egypt, Turkey or other countries. It also means staying in touch with what happens with regards to music in American Tribal Style and Tribal Fusion, plus I like to listen and use music from our music charts as well.

As soon as my classes are available, I will post them here on this blog and across all the channels that I use for promotion (newsletter, Twitter, Facebook, websites, and I will tell you all about it when I meet you in person!). Stay tuned! If you are interested in the BDBA, I recommend you go over there and sign up for free. Even if you are not a professional dancer but dance pure for fun, there are classes that can help you overcome stage fright, or help you resolve disagreements.

Special shout out to my fellow Dutch dancers

For the Dutchies, I have special treats for you! I will offer real live workshops in our Kyria Moves studio on several topics. I am now working on the schedule for September-December and there will be a couple of really special workshops to help you succeed as a belly dancer. Keep an eye on my website  and sign up for my (Dutch) newsletter and you’ll get all the news first hand.

I am a professional bellydancer, costume-a-holic and dance studio owner living in the Netherlands. My biggest passion is teaching and performing bellydance and I intent to continue doing so for quite some time! If you like to be kept in the loop, please like Kyria Bellydance on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. Leave your questions or comments in the box below, or let me know through Facebook.

 

Leave a comment