Hi world!

After my first post in 2017 I disappeared from the radar. Several live changing events happened and we are rolling with it.

Remodelling

The dance studio is almost done and in the next couple of weeks our house will be finished a well. We had a total of four months of various building activities, a huge parade of construction workers entering our home around seven am. We moved in with my Mother in Law for a month and moved back at the end of February. The heavy lifting is done by our contractor but we need to make all the decisions and do the smaller tasks. It is very exiting to see our vision come to life and walk inside the new studio. The rooflight in the studio is one of my favorite things, as sunlight fills every part of the room during the day. At night  we can lie on the floor and watch the stars. We are currently using the studio as living space. In a couple of weeks the livingroom in the house will be finished and we’ll move back in. A couple more months so we can furnish the studio and livingroom and get the garden back into shape. The garden looks like a herd of elephants trampled over it repeatedly.

 

verbouwing 01
Our dog is already enjoying the new bay window

 

Work

I made a leap and started working in a new place! Totally different from my previous job, but in the same field so I can hang on to my skills and familiar issues and incidents. It is closer to home and this means spending 8 hours less every week on my commute.  It also comes with a shiny new flexwork concept, nice coworkers with a sense of humor and a likeable manager. New work is exhausting as there is so much to learn. Time to refocus and learn new skills.

Health

There was a flu going around and each member of the family caught it. We are all feeling better though and are now making up for the time lost on being sick or taking care of the other sick family members.

Dance

The new semester started and I have two full classes. All my energy has been poured into preparing for the classes and teaching them. I am really excited about coaching two assistent teachers, who can fill in for me in the future and teach henparty workshops. No time for doing costuming, instead I purchased a second hand costume for an upcoming performance and I borrowed a beledi dress for a performance in February. I am at a moment in my dance career where I need to clear out, sell and reevaluate my costumes but I don’t have the energy to do it. Too many costumes that don’t fit or don’t flatter any more, that should be loved and worn by another dancer. I bought a second hand Mid-East set that I wear with tops and skirts and it is getting quite some use. Love ‘m.

If you wanna say hi to me in real life, I’ll be at the hafla in Zeist on April 1th. I’m hosting a belly dance night on Wednesday, April 19th in Utrecht and after the month of April is done I will be on my couch with a glass of red wine and a bar of Tony Chocolonely. I’ll get back to writing soon!

 

presentatie januari
My students after the January student recital. Happy faces!

 

Wait, here’s some interesting stuff to read or watch

Even if I can’t write lots of blogs right now, I  gathered some amazing and insightful articles and blogs for your enjoyment:

Swan, Late – Irina Dumitrescu

An excellent and insightful aricle about starting with adult ballet classes whith no previous ballet experience. There are some references to belly dance in there as well.

How, what, why – TedTalk by Simon Sinek

I’ve been applying the ‘how, what, why’ principle for a while now and use it as foundation for my coaching. An old video but very useful.

Mindful learning – Bulletproof Musician

This blog explains one of the most common fallacies during the learning process, and how to fix it. As a teacher, I see this all the time in my students. Read it, it’s good.

am a professional bellydancer and costume-a-holic living in the Netherlands. My biggest passion is teaching and performing bellydance and I intent to continue for quite some time! If you enjoyed this post and like to be kept in the loop, please like Kyria Bellydance on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. Leave your questions or comments in the box below, or let me know through Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

