Historic/fantasy costuming: the purple dress

m4414

Besides belly dance costumes I made my fair share of every day clothes, gothic clothes, historic and fantasy costumes. As I am not off on a holiday this summer I decided to rummage through my old pictures and relive the glory days. This is not a belly dance costume but I figured anything costume related might pique your interest.

This purple taffeta dress was made with McCalls 4144. It’s now out of print. The white eyelet lace fabric has lilac and gold thread in it and looks really pretty and delicate up close. The bodice closes with lacing in the back and is fully lined with white cotton. One of the lessons I learned is that synthetic fabric looks pretty but is very sweaty when worn. It didn’t stop me from making more costumes in synthetic fabric, but I always packed a hand fan and water when I was wearing a dress shaped personal sauna.

Image 010

The bodice has plastic boning in the lining and this is the rare dress where the off the shoulder style stays in place and looks nice all the time. The downside was that raising my arms was nearly impossible! I made this costume somewhere around 2002 and I wore it at the Wave Gothic Treffen Festival in Leipzig, plus during some Dutch events around the same time. The costume jewelry round brooch in the center of the neckline was purchased at a flea market in Leipzig and is set with AB rhinestones that reflect purples and whites. The last lesson I learned was that a velcro closure on a shoulder bag paired with delicate fabric didn’t work: the underskirt ended up with some nasty pulls from the Velcro.

I ended up selling this dress around 2008 to make room for new costumes. The picture below was taken at the Catherijne Convent in Utrecht, a medieval almshouse that is available to the public. Image 002

I am a professional bellydancer and costume-a-holic living in the Netherlands. If you enjoyed this post and like to be kept in the loop, please like Kyria Bellydance on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. Leave your questions or comments in the box below, or let me know through Facebook.

Leave a Reply

