Wrap tops to the max

I have been costuming but I haven’t had time to blog about it yet. On April 2th we had our annual hafla in Zeist with Sense of Bellydance. For the show I needed to do some quick projects to finish off my costumes. As we settled on ‘student attire’ I didn’t have to make fully beaded bra and belt sets, instead going for less time consuming wrap tops and practice pants.

White practice pants

I know, white pants are the most impractical thing ever on account of attracting stains faster than the speed of light. But I wanted to do this performance in an all-white combination and the one thing worse than white practice pants are white leggings.  A white skirt was out of the question as I would be doing a lot of floor work. The double overskirt was added because white jersey is kind of transparent when worn.

IMG_3743[1]

Yellow wrap top

For our photoshoot in January I borrowed a wrap top but it didn’t fit quite right. I didn’t have time to go fabric shopping but I found two yellow scarfs in a dollar store, and made it into a wrap top. Problem solved! Added bonus is that I added rolled hem to a left over piece of fabric for a headscarf.

  
 Flower hairclip

To finish my yellow costume, I sewed a hairclip to a fake flower. Once more I didn’t have time to go shopping for the right type of clip so I went with the cheap type of hairclip available in almost any drug store. Sahina has a more extensive blog about how to make your own.

  
Blue and purple wrap top

This wasn’t for the hafla, but for practice wear during class. I used the left over fabric from the peacock jersey dress I made last year, and turned it into a wrap top. Instant spice added to my practice outfit!

IMG_3668[1]

Light blue chiffon wrap top

I made this to test the wrap top pattern I drafted. I have a lot of this fabric lying around the house and I need to either sell it or turn them into skirts and tops for future use. As I already made a very easy sleeves attached-tie top for my students a year ago, I thought it would be nice to experiment a bit with different sleeve shapes and such. I’ve added the pattern to my pattern stash.

  
All these small projects got me a bit sidetracked from the Gold Mesh costume but I am getting back to that. What are you working on these days?

I am  a professional bellydancer and costume-a-holic living in the Netherlands. I’ve been sewing and crafting stuff for over twenty years, for theaters, dance costumes, historic costumes and regular clothes. If you enjoyed this post and like to kept in the loop, please like Kyria Bellydance on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. Leave your questions or comments in the box below, or let me know through Facebook and I might write a blog post to answer your costuming question.

Thanks for reading and see you soon!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

